Home Opinion

Opinion

23 Mar 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

Live life like you’ll die tomorrow, plant a garden like you’ll live forever – I can’t remember who quoted that to me once but it has stuck with me. In reality we just don’t do this, however.
Social:

15 Mar 2015 09:30

Review: They Came From Mars - Shinfield Players Theatre

THE Farndale Avenue Townswomen’s Guild drama group are renowned for their lack of stage prowess and their production of this sci-fi drama resulted in the predictable mayhem we have come to expect from these ladies of somewhat limited talent! Props went astray, lines were forgotten or muddled and we witnessed a series of wardrobe malfunctions, the absurdity of which all added to the hilarity of the evening.
Social:

10 Mar 2015 09:30

First night review: The History Boys

PASS the parcel. These are some of the final words said in The History Boys by focal character Hector – an inspiring and off-curricula English teacher nurturing a group of eight boys through to their university entry exams.
Social:

9 Mar 2015 09:30

The Reluctant Runner: Cake

It is quite amusing, well to me anyway, that this month’s column on my London Marathon training sits right next to a piece about sugar dependency.
Social:

6 Mar 2015 09:30

King King tease with soulful gig

MULTI-AWARD winning four piece blues-rock band King King captivated their fans with an intimate performance at Bowery District on Sunday.
Social:

4 Mar 2015 09:30

First night review: Sleeping Beauty by Vienna Festival Ballet

HIGH up in the balcony she rests her chin on her hands. The lights go down and her eyes open wide.
Social:

27 Feb 2015 09:30

Oye Yes Santana: Review by Mike Swift

A SOLD out Norden Farm in Maidenhead played host to the ‘incredible’ Carlos Santana tribute band Oye Santana on Saturday night.
Social:

20 Feb 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

I KNOW I may be slightly biased in my opinion here but Garden design must be the most creative forms of design there is. Why do I have the audacity to say this?
Social:

12 Feb 2015 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

At four months, baby has started to make up her own form of communication, all sorts of screeches, screams, gurgles and babbles and I love it so much I can’t help but actively encourage her.
Social:

10 Feb 2015 09:30

A stadium, a prince and a marathon

WHEN I set out on the road to running a marathon I never expected it to take me to the hallowed turf of sacred Twickenham – twice – or shaking the hands of a prince in the England rugby team’s changing rooms, writes Rebecca Curley in this month's Reluctant Runner column.
Social:

5 Feb 2015 12:00

Health focus: dealing with heartburn

HEARTBURN, or acid reflux, can be very uncomfortable but, arguably, occasional symptoms are normal. If you overeat or drink excess alcohol then the burning symptoms might be expected.
Social:

28 Jan 2015 16:18

We’re hoping for another Tipperary Tim

Mention horse racing to somebody who doesn’t do much betting on them and chances are they’ll immediately mention the Grand National - it’s the one everyone’s heard of.
Social:

26 Jan 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

Designing your ideal garden. First measure your plot.
Social:

19 Jan 2015 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

After almost four months of practice, I have almost mastered the art of breastfeeding in public (except when caught off-guard wearing silly dresses). And what an art it is.
Social:

15 Jan 2015 09:30

Ever tried breastfeeding in public while holding a conversation with a man?

After almost four months of practice, I have almost mastered the art of breastfeeding in public (except when caught off-guard wearing silly dresses). And what an art it is.
Social:

15 Jan 2015 09:30

The Reluctant Runner on Park Run

NEW year, new you....and all that jazz. Don’t you just hate it when people spin the positive on everything during January by saying this four words? Well for me yes, this is a new year, but it’s not so much a new me rather than a more organised (and hopefully fitter and thinner) me.
Social:

10 Jan 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist

I hope you’re all set for Christmas and the presents are wrapped. Hopefully you can now sit back and relax.
Social:

22 Dec 2014 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

A LOT of my non-mum friends ask me what to expect from motherhood and wonder how life changes. I’ll tell you a story and let you make up your own mind.
Social:

18 Dec 2014 09:30

Fun and games while trying to breastfeed a three-month-old in public wearing a bodycon dress...

A LOT of my non-mum friends ask me what to expect from motherhood and wonder how life changes. I’ll tell you a story and let you make up your own mind.
Social:

15 Dec 2014 09:30

The Reluctant Runner

SO I have been told you learn a lot about yourself when in training for something big like the London Marathon.
Social:

29 Oct 2014 09:30

Europe essay prize is a great winter challenge

For any enterprising student who’s dreamed of being able to seriously expand his or her horizons the new eye-catcher offer agreed between Berlin-based travel experts GoEuro and the University of Reading is surely too good to ignore.
Social:

9 Oct 2014 13:03 • Hugh Miller

Are green “tractors” the smart 4X4 option?

Even for people who follow new vehicle design fairly closely the lingering, classic image of the 4 X 4 is often that of an ostentatious gas guzzler with the eco-efficiency of a Sherman tank - the notorious “Chelsea Tractor”.
Social:

9 Oct 2014 13:01 • Hugh Miller

Are we swapping the gym for a gadget?

We all know about the well-established trend among young people to risk obesity by spending endless hours glued to computer games - but it could just be that we’re giving technological gadgetry a bad name it doesn’t really deserve.
Social:

8 Oct 2014 11:14

How will Reading fare in the Championship this season?

We're rolling into October now and the start of the winter period of the 2014/15 Championship season so things are starting to settle into place in the second tier of English football for The Royals and all of the other side's looking to secure promotion to the Premier League.
Social:

22 Sep 2014 09:30 • Hugh Miller

Getting to grips with project risk

What’s the worst that could happen? That’s the pragmatic and not remotely doom-laden question any project manager has to ask before the ink is dry on the first draft of any operational plan - because solving problems before they get a chance to happen will add hugely to the prospects of ultimate success.
Social:

Advertising and Commercial Features